Online fans: the vocal minority

There’s an interesting article up on Blogcritics.org about the visceral, often angry reactions from online fans towards their favorite TV shows. It’s mostly told from the point of view of players in the industry, but it does raise some interesting points as to just how much sway fans should have over the making of a show, and how a loud reaction doesn’t necessarily equate to anything more than a small number of vocal complainers.

Personally, I’m inclined to agree. I see a lot of fans who nitpick the living hell out of their favorite shows (something I’m not adverse to myself, given that I produce a podcast about Doctor Who) and while everyone’s free to voice their opinion, sometimes I wonder why people watch the show in the first place if it makes them so angry and bitter. Of course I’m only one member of the triple threat that is our podcast, and my co-hosts might have different opinions.

One Response to Online fans: the vocal minority

  1. greg fink says:

    Not that anyone who considers themselves a fan would ever tear their favorite show apart…

    We all know lots who do it and I must admit that I too wonder why they bother to watch the shows they dig into so much. I think it must be something like the hype they build for themselves over the new show coming being so ridiculous that they can never met the fan expectation.

    The new series is fun overall. Tennant is a good actor, the show is going somewhere, and I will keep watching. I’m just not going to dissect it so much that nothing is left behind to enjoy.

    Just my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

